Introduction:

Growing up I would look at all the magazines. I was usually more interested in the design rather than the article. I guess you could say I have gone into the right major for me! For this post I designed a magazine spread for an article that was from lds.org. The article is titled, “The Atonement Can Clean, Reclaim, and Sanctify Our Lives,” given by Elder Shayne M. Bowen. Unlike the young me, I really do enjoy this article; However, this post is about the design. I highly recommend reading this talk in your free time. It can be found at lds.org. For now, let us get talking about the design.

 

Color

The colors I chose were blue, green, and white. These were my choice because they are very cool colors and it also looks very clean. Which I thought went well with this theme. The theme was about ” The Atonement can Clean, Reclaim, and Sanctify your lives through the Atonement.”

 

Photography

These photographs were taken by myself, Emily Potter.

 

Target Audience Analysis:

Before you start making a design for something, you need to decide who the target audience is. If it is a magazine geared towards children, then you would use brighter colors and make it more fun. Verse if you are designing for a minimalist. The design would be rather simple and would stay in values rather than color. My target audience for this project was women between the ages 16-50. This woman likes trends, they are rather clean, and are a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (LDS also known as Mormons) or are interested in the LDS Church. That is the audience I am targeting this spread to.

Here is the magazine spread.

Now it is time to analyze the design.

 

 

Design Analysis:

A good checklist to keep in mind when critiquing art is to use the Principles of Design. There is no one set of principles. Some people have different ideas of what to call them. Here is one list of six principles of design that I think is easy to explain.The principles are Dominant and Subordinate, Repetition, Focal Point, Balance, Rule of Thirds, and Space.

 

Dominant and Subordinate

For Dominant and Subordinate, it is used a lot in the typography of this article. The dominant item of this spread is the word “Atonement”. Next, it goes to the rest of the title. Then to the who gave the talk and his title. Finally, into the body of the article. But it does not stop here. On the second page, the dominant item is the picture on the bottom left. Then the quote on the right. Also, while you are reading there are subheads which are a different font and also larger.

 

Repetition

With Repetition, it is in the typography as well as the pictures and colors. With typography, I kept the same font for the body copy and the same font for the subheads. For pictures, I had kept the theme with nature and the Idaho Falls Area. In the talk, it talks about the garbage. I did take pictures of the garbage but I made the decision that it would not look good with the other pictures. The colors I chose were white, blue, and green. I kept these colors in mind while I was talking photographs and also when I up in the side bars and block quote in the light blue.

 

Focal Point

The Focal Point of this project was the “Atonement.” A few things I did to make it be the focal point was the contrasting values. The text was a dark blue, while the background was more white. Another contrasted I used was with the scale of the word. It was set at 146 pt. , while the next largest text was set at 24 pt. At first, when I was messing with the size I got the text big in Avenir but it felt a little boring and that it needed to be pushed more. I started testing what other fonts would look good and ended with more of a trendy cursive font. Which would help get to closer to my target audience.

 

Balance

Next, we have Balance. On the front page, we have only one column of text. To help balance it out I put the picture of the temple there so there would not be a big hole. In my first draft I just had the white temple, but for the final, I chose to zoom out and add in the trees, the ground, and a little bit of the Snake River. This helps add a foundation to the whole page. On the second page, there is an image on the left bottom that is really weighing the composition down. Imagine if it was on a scale. The scale would completely be tipped down towards the right. To help bring the scale back to level, I put the blockquote on the right side higher up. As well as not having the last column go to the very bottom of the page. If the text would have gone down to the page it would not have been as level as it is now.

 

Rule of Thirds

The Rule of Thirds is becoming well known in the social media world. When you are about to post a picture to Instagram there are lines that divide the picture into 3 sections horizontally and vertically. It breaks up the image so that it is more appealing to the eye. On the front page, I put the title and the Angel Moroni on the top horizontal line. Then the bottom horizontal line is aligned with the trees. The Angel Moroni is also getting hit a second time by the right vertical line. Showing that it is placed where it is visually comforting. On the second page, the top of the image is aligned with the line, and so it the block quote.

 

Space

One thing a lot of people who are not designers have a hard time with is leaving space. Some may think it sounds boring to leave a big chunk of nothing in a place, but it actually gives the mind a rest and focus on what is really going on. In my design, I used space not only in the typography but also in the pictures. The Idaho Falls LDS Temple has a very sharp and strong outline. Combining this with the organic shapes of the trees it gives an interesting negative space. My second image as has space with the sky. You can also notice that the margins are far away from the edge. This way it is more comfortable and you do not feel like you are going to fall off the page when you are reading. Now to the spacing that I think is very important in typography. The spacing between the title, author, beginning of the article, subheads, photographs, and the end, all matters. For example, is the subhead has less spacing on the top and more on the bottom, then it looks like it belongs in the old section. But if you put more spacing before the subhead and less to the body paragraph it belongs to, then it looks like it relates to it and is part of it.

 

Typography

The fonts used in this project are Avenir, Vincentai, Futura, and Bodoni 72. With Avenir, I used it for the majority of the title, the description of the author, and the subheads. Vincentai was just used for the word “Atonement” because I wanted it to stand out from the rest. The Atonement is the main point of this talk. Futura was used in the Authors name and also at the end to show where to find this talk. While Bodoni 72 was used for the body. I chose to do a serif font for the body because serifs can make things easier to read. It also contrasts with the san serif title and subheads.

 

Conclusion:

Overall I think that this design is strong. It fits my target audience and it has a lot of design principles that make it a good design. There is a reason for each of my decisions. After looking at magazines spreads my whole life, I am proud that this is my first one I have created.

 

 

Photography Attribution: 

The photography was taken by myself, Emily Potter. The location is in Idaho Falls along the Snake River.

Leave a Reply

